The Accredited Retirement Plan Consultant

The purpose of the ARPC certification program is to recognize individual proficiency in the retirement plan industry. The ARPC designation is earned by industry professionals who help employers establish and maintain plans that enable employees to effectively save and plan for retirement. The information in the following courses was developed by the SPARK ARPC ARPS Certification Committee.

ARPC Course Titles

TC 181        Retirement Plan and Industry Overview

TC 182        Plan Features and Design

TC 183        Participant Communications, Education and Advice

TC 186        Plan Reporting and Compliance

TC 187        Retirement Plan Market and Sales Process

Who should enroll on the ARPC designation program?

Retirement plan professionals with at least one-year in the financial services industry, who seek to grow their knowledge, enhance credibility, and demonstrate accomplishment within the retirement plan industry.

The ARPC Designation is earned by industry professionals who help plan sponsors and employers to establish and maintain qualified retirement plans to ultimately enable employees to effectively save and plan for retirement.

Upon earning the ARPC Designation, the retirement professional will demonstrate a proficiency and knowledgebase regarding:

  • The Retirement Plan Industry
  • Effective Plan Design Features
  • The Basics of Participant Communication, Education and Advice
  • Plan Reporting and Compliance
  • How the Sales Process operates in the Defined Contribution Industry

How long do I have to complete the ARPC designation program?

Candidates will have 12 months to schedule and successfully complete the Designation Exam. The candidacy period will begin on the date of the approved application notice and end 12 months later. Upon expiration of the candidacy period, if the candidate has not yet completed the work to obtain the designation an applicant may re-apply. The candidate has two opportunities to sit for the Designation Exam within the 12-month candidacy period.

How many questions are on the ARPC final exam?

There are 100 multiple-choice questions. Candidates are given 2 hours to complete the exam. The exam covers material from the Exam Study Guide.

Once I complete the ARPC designation program, when can I begin using the designation?

The ARPC designation will be awarded to individuals who have successfully passed the exam and have documented one year of experience in the retirement plan industry.

Students who receive successful documentation of completing the ARPC Designation Exam may begin using the Accredited Retirement Plan Specialist Designation (The ARPC Designation) immediately.

What are the on-going CE requirements and fees?

ARPC certification is granted on a calendar year basis. Certification renewal is due at the end of each calendar year following the year in which you earn the Designation.


All ARPC Designation holders must complete 10 hours of continuing education. CE credit will be accepted for: successful completion of a course, seminar or workshop that is related to retirement plans and covers advanced topics. This can be completed in-person or online.

Annual Fee

The annual fee is $150. This fee is waived with the purchase of 2 SPARK continuing education courses or with the purchase of the SPARK Annual Industry Review course.

When is the ARPC designation offered and where?

The ARPC is an online program and is available on demand. Please click on the link below to request more information or to be contacted by a representative.


Scroll to Top